Pages

Welcome to our musings... our reflections on all things West End or anything else that pops into our heads.



Thursday, 26 July 2012

Superstar - Live show #9

It's the day after the final and I am FORCING myself to watch this on iplayer without knowing the result. The entire process has left a really fowl taste in  my mouth. Please don't misunderstand me - I don't think any of the contestants are nasty or bad people, but the entire process has been flawed, the audience has been manipulated and the judges...errm yes. This blog (see link below) says it all, IMHO, very eloquently, succinctly and in a composed and measured manner...

Could we start again, Please?

Last show. Thank goodness . Looking very 80's Sci Fi reject, Amanda.

I am waiting with fear for 'Gethsemane'.

'Hosanna'. I'm going to say this even though I promised myself I wouldn't. If you had heard/seen the version we saw in Vienna you would appreciate just how...amateurish this feels. Once again, not the fault of the performers. They are merely being thrust towards a role none are exactly tailor made for. It was 'nice'. Rory was better than the others. That's all I can say.

And how lovely, Mel C is going to sing for us with ALW on the piano. I really am trying to muster up enthusiasm here and I'm failing.

Ben - having murdered Snow Patrol in the last episode I've come to the conclusion that he can sing as badly as he wants to and will still be the judges favourite. I don't think he has the voice or the charisma, but who am I. 'who wants to live forever'. Bad start. Bad. Voice sounds weak on the quiet notes, the high notes are a bit dicey...all this riffing and reaching and gulping and over emoting...betcha the judges will think it was orgasmic. Thought so. They don't know what the term 'Superstar' means. Mel C, SHUT UP. Apparently Ben always tells the story, according to Dawn. ALW - 'mesmeric'. Everyone forgives him making a mess of the beginning because they want him to win.

Rory - I think he'd be a fine singer elsewhere but I just don't see him in an arena. Let alone doing Aerosmith justice. Not a favourite song of theirs, this one. And bless him, Rory just sounds a bit lacklustre. Screetchy and thin high note. Nope. Now for praise of perfection from the judges and some dribbly saccharine schmaltz from the Holden woman. Dawn thinks he's gone from boy to man. Jase says he's never cheesy. true. But he's not great either. Mel C, SHUT UP. ALW says his voice is the 'clearest of rock bells'. Clearly he has not heard of Dre...oh never mind.

Roger - Will not win as he's not a rock singer. And it's sad that someone who has already played a leading part on the West End is in a competition like this. He shouldn't be here, he should be treading the boards continuously. Anyway. getting all the previous contestants to say nice things about the finalists is just twee. 'Don't let the sun go down on me'. He won't win with this though he's singing it nicely. JCS isn't written for a soul voice. Hopefully West End producers will realise they have someone like Roger out there now - if nothing else, lets hope he's managed to get some exposure. Needless to say the judges are ecstatic. I can't be arsed to go in to detail any more about their absolute drivel. Roger is, however, a nice man.

Here goes. Gethsemane. The film version is dire, btw. I will not talk about the perfect version of this track that Tamsin and I have heard a few times now.

Rory is too quiet. And weak. Ben sounds too wavery and is doing his usual whiney overacting. Roger sounds a bit better than the rest but his voice is too low and he's gone off key...but they all seem to have mild probs staying on their notes. Lots of tremor...and I'm not feeling the emotion. All of them get to do the high note badly. No, Amanda 'patronising and not just a bit wooden' Holden, 'a privilege to be on this stage with you...' what an utter, bollocky, sycophantic, stupid thing to say.

Just let us know who it is and lets forget this show ever happened. Please.

Oh, but we have the pleasure of hearing Mel C yet... breathy, non-descript, have heard better singers in amdram, little charisma, but I guess she's a 'name' that will bring in people who remember the appalling Spice girls, so there you go. She bores me. And she brings that 'false intensity' into her singing as well. Because she doesn't know how to act. FFS!!!!!!!The West End has amazing singers who could do this song justice both vocally and with emotion but no. Mel C.

More drivel from the judges before we hear who won't be Jesus.

That would be Roger then.  I was right. 'what's been the highlight for you, my darling?' simpers the nauseating Holden woman. I really won't be missing this show.was the moonwalk necessary, Roger?

ITV are milking this with all the breaks they can. guess they need to get the revenue back from somewhere since the viewing figures have, apparently, been so low. would be interesting to know how much further they dropped after Nathan was booted off.

So Ben will win, and Rory second.

I was right.

That's it folks, it's been a pleasure (!?!?) watching such utter car-crash telly, where the suitable singers get voted off or don't even make the final cut, where rudeness, bullying and manipulation is rife, and where judges don't actually have to have any expertise at all.

I think Tamsin and I need to get some sanity back by arranging to see another 'Sweeney Todd' and possibly a 'jersey Boys. i know I will now be listening to Drew Sarich  on Youtube on a loop.

Bye for now.






Tuesday, 24 July 2012

Superstar - Live Show #8

This is a public service announcement.

Viewing of the above programme will resume this evening. Not because the Theatrefairies have changed their opinion since last night, au contraire. It's because we haven't changed our minds. And because we started this process, we will finish it (though Karina might not be here on Wednesday. Ah well. Quel dommage), right through to the bitterest of bitter ends. We don't always review things we like, but we voice our opinions despite that, because writing about theatrical things we like and dislike makes us oddly happy.

And at risk of sounding a bit OCD, we hate unfinished business...not having a 'full set'. The series isn't quite yet finished, even if all the good contestants have been voted off and ALW has proved to be thoroughly manipulative and a downright bully, and the 'judges' are a bunch of sycophantic yes-people without enough MT credibility between them to fill up a tin of stinky sardines . That's what we think.

And no, after Nathan James was booted out unceremoniously yesterday for being the best singer on the show, the most likely to do the part of JC any justice whatsoever, and only eliminated because he behaved like an overexcited boy (He's 23 ffs!!!!!!) and his face didn't fit ALW's  warped standards, we won't be going to see the arena shows. Not interested. There seems very little point in spending megabucks watching Mel C and whoever the winner turns out to be, limp their way through an amazing score and make it sound like ill-fitting pants.

Just in case you wondered.

Tamsin will be joining me later. She is currently out and about, enjoying the sunshine and the company of an 8 week old puppy (Not jealous!! NOT!!), so sorry for having to put up with my (Karina) drivel again first.

I would be lying if I said I was overflowing with enthusiasm at the prospect of watching the next hour on TV, as I know I'll end up irate and saying things that I normally wouldn't .

The remaining four contestants are...bland. Amanda is grinning like a demented Barbie (but wearing a frock which would look great on Tamsin.).

Bloody Hell!! All this and KATHERINE JENKINS??? Am I in hell?? Am I being punished for being alive?????
Clearly.

'What's the buzz'. Starting with Ben who sounds weak and non-descript. Rory is giving it no welly or emotion. David has decided to 'act' his way through this one. If that's what you want to call it. Roger has got the best voice. But it's all wrong for this part. This is an iconic song!!!! ALW has written it!!! Isn't he weeping? Aren't his ears bleeding to hear it sung in such a bleuurgh, disinterested manner?

Jason says it's important to have fun in the semifinal. Dawn recommends actually breaking legs. ALW thinks it's great to hear something from the show. About time we heard something from the show - it's been 8 bloody episodes and frankly, if  we'd heard them all, say, attempt 'Gethsemane'  from the beginning, I reckon they would have had no choice but to keep Nathan in as the others just can't do it justice, I'm telling you...the semi final line up would look very different.

On to the individual displays of (ahem) talent.

Rory - he wants to be in the final. Woohoo. 'In The Air Tonight'. Honestly? This song is too big for him. His voice is just too...I dunno. It's like there's no 'beef' in his voice. No substance. Even his falsetto is thin and insubstantial. Not bad, per se, as he has a better voice than the majority of 'regular' pop singers out there, but for MT? For JCS? Not in a million years. Jason reckons he has 'great tone'. Suffice to say, I think we can all agree, that it is doubtful I will agree with a single judge (or they with me if it came to it). Mel C seems to want  to prove how she lives and breathes music. Which she clearly doesn't as she's an ex Spice Girl, but would have never made it as a singer on her own merit without being chosen to be in a hyped up band. Just saying. ALW thinks what Rory has done is extraordinary. Yeah yeah yeah.

Ben - 'Drive'. As performed by Snow Patrol, I love this track. Performed by Ben not so much. Clearly off key a few times and he's still doing that gulping and reaching for notes. The 'acting' does nowt for me. And that riffing is pretty appalling. This was not a winning performance. Which means the judges probably love it. Show stoppingly bad. Vocal stamina????? That is what Jason 'the expert' Donovan calls 'vocal stamina'????? ETHEREAL, Mel C???? The judges are tripping. They are all bloody tripping.

Roger - Murdering this song he is. And I hope Mel C watches herself back on this show and cringes to the point she will be too embarrassed to ever be seen in public again. Seems that the judges and audience are giving Roger the full clap along treatment, even when he sounds flat and dated. The Cynic in me thinks it's because they have been told, by ALW or whoever it may be, that they want him to be one of the final three. He cannot sing the part of JCS. Or maybe he can, but he won't sing it like it is supposed to be sung. Yes I know, it's ALW's score. But that's what amazes me. Can ALW really, truly, honestly not hear it????

Btw, I will be turning the volume down, putting my fingers in my ears and singing 'la la la I'm not listening' while Katherine Jenkins is on. She's like Alfie Bow. Technically fine. OK tone . Emotionally just blank and artificial.

David - 'Consummate Actor' MY ARSE. Singing a Macy Grey staple. Is this 'rock', ALW? Eh? Didn't you want to hear 'ROCK'?? This is making me so angry!! Just got a text from Tamsin saying the same thing. His voice is like a million other peoples voice. I wouldn't recognise it in a line up. His acting is amateurish. I've actually seem better in AmDram. Oh the judges are being all so pleasant. Jason has just described himself as 'an actor and a singer'. I sniggered. I'm wondering if David is out, because everyone is being SO polite but not saying anything of any particular substance. Hmmm. I wish I could care.

NOOOOOOOOOOOOOOO!!!!!!!
NOOOOOOOOOOOOOOO KATHERINE JENKINS!!!!!
NOOOOOOOOOOOOOOO!!!!!!!

I am now sitting in the corner of the room, rocking slowly and staring at a spot on the ceiling whilst muttering profanities under my breath.

I really need to wind this up as I'm becoming an angry old hag. So come on, time for results. Chop chop, no hanging around. I have better things to do like tear my finger nails out and rub garlic in my eyes.

Don't really care what the judges say.

They are all  tone deaf.

David - bottom two.
Ben - safe
Roger - safe
Rory - bottom two

David will be going, I reckon my polite theory was correct.

The worst song ever written for a musical. I hate it. 'No matter what'. They are both equally bad but Rory just marginally less than David who merely thinks acting is staring intensely directly at the camera.

Someone put me out of my abject misery.

ALW, spit it  out. He is so blatantly see-through. I could see his tactics miles off and if I can so can the rest of the nation.

Woop de doo. Rory is in, David is out.

Now I can switch over and regain my equilibrium by necking a bottle of gin
Good night.

Well done K, you got further than me.  I had to resort to the sanity of Youtube to make sure I'm not going completely mad . Tonights blog from me may finish somewhat suddenly.....


Hmfph. Well, Im back, albeit grudgingly.

Group song - "Whats the buzz....?" Finally!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!! Roger did best with this. By a mile. But it was still lacking the Jesus factor...you know when he gets them all to shut up and listen??
I shall be short and sweet with comments, none of them do anything for me really.

ALW says he wants rock tonight....erm, ahem, er.... shhh, don't tell him but HE DOESN'T HAVE ANY ROCK SINGERS LEFT!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!! Grrrrr.

Rory -
In the Air tonight.... hit the notes and turn up the echo and you can't really go wrong here boy. Aw, Rory is cute, but surely Tim Minchin (and Mel come to that) would tower over him? They'll have to stand him on a box or something...like they have. That was quite good, but so unexciting. Oh God where is Drew Sarich when you need him???
Brilliant, says Jase earnestly, he is the rock star in this competition. Apparently so. Mel loves him, but then she loves everyone and we all know she wants Ben so really whats the point asking her opinion anyway. Dawn thinks he should be fronting a band.... faint praise. ALW needs to stop thinking up puns. Really. Just stop it.

Advert for the Starlight Express tour....convenient. Can we expect Phantom next?

Ben-
Or "Lovely Ben" as Amanda calls him. (God, he sounds awful in that recap of last night...was he really that bad? And is it me or is he looking a tad S.M.U.G. in the VT? ) OW...OW....OUCH!!!!!!!!!!!!!!! Bad start! I actually made a noise then!!
The judges must hear this??? Flat flat FLAT!!!! Leona Lewis he ain't. He needs to pull this back, it's bloody painful!!! Seriously, the judges are on their feet???? That was DIRE!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!! It actually got me up off the sofa squealing nononononono......and turning the telly down!! Could he not hear himself????????????? I know I dont like him, but helllfire!!!!!! He just got louder and louder and flatter and flatter!!!! Someone acknowledge this???? I seriously am not sure I can watch this any more. What the hell did they hear? ALW - He really did make it his own. All his own brand new notes. Bloody hell. Emperors new clothes, methinks. We just witnessed a murder on national TV.

Roger-
Oh dear - this is a bit of a cheesefest, and not really a vote winner of a song IMO, and the dated lilac suit isn't helping. More chairdancing from Mel. More flirting from Dawn. More exaggeration from Jason. More patronising bullshit from Andrew. "You're going to have a fabulous career" *subtext* notinmyshowthoughbutthanksforallyoureffortsmate.Yawn.

David-
OMG they have given Mr Bland a classic Macy Gray number. Lots of Acting as always. Or is it pain? One can never really tell. Nope, not for me. Oh, now ALW is telling him he is the great actor/singer the west end needs?! He'd cast him as Joe Gillis??!! Oh come on!

You know what? I am done. I can't watch this anymore. I am taking it all far too seriously and its winding me up. I may be back tomorrow....or not!

There is not one of them left who can do JUSTICE TO THIS
And, no it's not Drew. But David....this is acting. Watch and learn!!!



Monday, 23 July 2012

Superstar - Live Show #7

...has it finished yet...? Seems to be going on forever now, this process...

I've read Tamsin's review and having played catch up by watching the last episode online I have to agree with everything she has said wholeheartedly. Lovely pretty Jeff will have a fab career - providing he gets some vocal lessons and gets comfortable with his 'musical' voice, which could become as effective and good as his Rock voice. Because lets face it, he has the potential to be magnificent!! Jon could also do MT easily as long as he doesn't insist he can sing Rock (and he gets that vibrato under control...) so as much as neither is in the running for this particular prize any more, chances are we'll see them popping up in shows somewhere down the road.

I do, however, have just one more gripe I need to get off my chest before this evenings' show starts. I hate it when performers, any performers, when receiving their applause after doing their 'thing',  do the 'I have nothing left to give' show. You know the one,  the exhausted, barely able to stand up, looking 'too emotional for words', barely able to look anyone in the eye, 'I want to be alone as I have given you all I am...' show. Well bollocks, is what I say. David did it in the last show and I almost spat my coffee out. Silly, stupid boy! Even Jason said during one show that they weren't saving lives, and no matter how long/hard a working day might be in theatre, the audience doesn't buy that malarkey, instead thinking you don't know when to stop acting, if anything at all. Too annoying for words. Anyway. Time to move on...

My money is on Nathan to win (I hope)!!!
And tonight, I think, is Roger's turn to get voted off, probably...let's see, shall we?


Rory is confident he could be Jesus. Well who knew! Since you put it like that...


Out of the contenders left I only rate Nathan and at a push (an extremely large shove over the edge) Rory if necessary. David, Ben, Roger...not for me. 


Nathan - He has lovely blue eyes. And has become more likeable now that he forgets to be arrogant...oooh! Nathan sings Lady Gaga!!! 'Born This Way' is one of my favourite gym songs (when I get that far...a rare occurrence nowadays but eh...). Anyway. Vocally very good. Very. Brilliant!!!!!! Not sure I like this arrangement much but I can't fault it vocally. And he performed it well. Dawn says he is 'mind blowingly talented' and thinks he would make a great Judas (Tamsin said that ages ago!!!!!)...met with a stunned silence...Mel is wittering without saying anything constructive. ALW thinks Nathan' needs to love his song more than he loves himself'...something about his tweets...must look it up later...he tweeted himself with a crown of thorns...? ALW is furious. I think Nathan has just lost the competition. Bloody hell. ALW does not want him and I think Nathan knows it. Evil ALW! Crikey. Ok. Just looked at his twitter page and...he seems to love himself a bit. Or he's young and excited and a bit of a silly arse and he'll grow out of it and he got carried away. Either way, I don't think we'll be seeing a Norse Jesus if ALW gets his way. Bloody hell.


Roger - I have never denied he's not handsome, or that he hasn't got a great voice. Quite the opposite, he is and has both of those things. But this is not a Soul part. It's a Rock part. Now I sound like a broken record! 'Handbags and Gladrags' is another Karina favourite (and I dare say, as a Stereophonics  fan a Tamsin fave) and he sang it well. Jase loves it. Dawn says a 'goodness and integrity  shines through' from him which is a requirement of the role. Which is a direct jab at Nathan. Ok already, point taken, now leave Nathan alone...ALW not 100% on all his acting choices, but on the whole he's done...good. Fine. Another prediction I have got wrong...Roger will stay probably.


David - He is not the strongest vocally. And he has a slight lisp (which I don't suppose matters on the whole). Effing Mel C will you quit that infernal chair dancing!! It doesn't make you more 'real' or 'intense' or 'rock' or edgy or LIKEABLE. Just bloody stop!!!!! Alright performance but just not my cup of tea. He 'inhabits his performance', says Mel. A bit too much so, if you ask me. Dawn said the same but in different words. ALW said he was out of tune but blames the staging...who knows. Maybe he just isn't all that. I sound bitter and angry again now...


Rory - Is it fair to make him sing Queen??? How can he survive comparisons with the one and only, great and amazing, gone but never forgotten Freddy Mercury?? Especially as this is passable but by no means amazing. And the dancers wearing little Freddy outfits is in incredibly bad taste IMHO. I think his voice was too thin for this. You need a huge voice and massive charisma to carry off this song. Jason says it was the performance of the evening. Really? Mel C could listen to him all day. I have discovered I can't watch her when she talks. A very biased ALW wants Rory to go through and all but says so. No bias there then, eh ALW, not at all.

Ben - I'm still not feeling the 'remarkable talent' that is Ben. Now he just looks stoned. I know he's probably supposed to be sad but nope, his acting choice with this song screams 'stoned' to me. And the audience whoops and cheers and Dawn says it's like a James Bond theme tune...naaaah, I don't think so. Apparently that was the 'confident performance of a champ'. Jason says he makes us 'feel the emotion'. Mel loves him (you don't say) and he is Mel's Jesus. ALW wants a Ben/Rory final (I reckon) and witters on about plumbers. This is utter rubbish.

I still think the best singer is out (Nathan) if ALW gets his way. And I must say I'd be inclined to stop watching if he gets voted off because the bias that ALW is showing is phenomenally obvious. And as Tamsin has just put it in text to me, the sycophantic way the judges are sucking up to ALW's favourites...I've actually lost a little bit of respect for ALW in this process. Not because he doesn't like whom I like, but because he is being downright nasty. Why go through this process if he knows who he wants?????

Nathan has just tweeted 'I feel hated by ALW, I want to show I can do it, I want to be here tomorrow...'. Not sure that is the best way to calm the Good (?) Lord down, Nathan darling.

But now we have a Gary Barlow interlude, which can only be a good thing!!! Good old Gazza. He never fails to deliver.

All five are standing around in their tuxedo's while Amanda Holden shouts her way through another bridge. I'm starting to wonder why I started watching this process as it has resulted in nothing  other than  raised blood pressure and my anger management issues. And I'm the most placid person in the universe (she says)!

The votes are in. Any surprises?

Ben - safe.
Roger - in the bottom two
Rory - safe
Nathan - in the bottom two
David  - safe

It's good bye Nathan as ALW will vote him out.

'Love Changes Everything'. What a song to choose!!!!! Come on Nathan!!!!!! Nathan looks nervous for the first time ever and his voice sounds oddly breathy...to be honest neither was designed to sing this song. But Nathan steps up a gear with the key change...more so that Rog who still sounds a bit off key at times...it's almost painful to watch. Nathan though, just gave a KILLER last note!!!

Right, ALW...choose well and right. Roger is saved. Goodbye Superstar Nathan - I'm not impressed. And I think everyone knows that this is a bloody set up, catering to ALW's whims.

Shameful. Utterly shameful. And very gracious in his defeat, is Nathan. I am furious. Hope he gets that part in Rock of Ages everyone says he is perfect for...show them Nathan, you can do it!!! I know he wasn't my favourite from the offset but he has proved himself to have the most talent and adaptability, which is now being completely ignored in favour of thin, non-descript voices that you can barely tell from each other. I have the feeling that what ALW wants, ALW gets. What a manipulative, underhand way to control things. He's a proper puppet master.

Right, I'm signing out now as I am  speechless and I'm not sure I will be commenting on any more of this process. I can't abide injustice in any way, shape or form.
Absolute shocker.


And from Tamsin... more of the same I'm afraid. See, we do think as one.
So! We are back! Refreshed and looking forward to... ah lines open already. This is so stooopid. David has annoyed me, just in the phoneline clip. And Amanda mixed up Rory and Roger again...

Group song... We Are Young. Rory and Nathan sounding best so far, David looks like hes watching himself on the monitor and SHOUTING. He's also gesturing a lot to the ceiling during the line "Brighter than the sun"...see what he did there? Ah yes.... THE ACTOR.

Nathan -
Can he beat Fridays performance? Are they going to let him sing a ballad to see what he can do? Ah nope. Born this way...are they hoping he'll hang himself with this one? Can I think of any more questions? He's killing it again - he can definitely sing the part, that's for sure. Yep, he still gets my vote... it will be interesting to see if they give the others more emotive songs to sing and prove they can act.....
Oh Dawn, Judas has been cast. Mel - perfect song for you she says.... but not for this role. ALW - setting Nathan up I think. Sounds like he's been waiting for him to do something stupid. ALW can be very biased on these shows, and quite nasty when he wants to be. I hope Nathan wins now just to spite him.

Roger -
A gift of a song this....Handbags and Gladrags. See what they did there???? God, Im becoming a conspiracy theorist. Slicky done, not as good as Kelly Jones, but then who is? Ouch, Dawn, a little dig there? ALW coming up with meaningless trivia again...aah, and yes. He likes Roger. Lucky old Roger.

David -
Ugh. Im not looking foward to this... but will try to remain objective, unlike a certain someone.
Oh Mel, stop chairdancing. Mel thinks it was a brave song choice (not that it was his..), Dawn, composed is not the word I would use for him. ALW thought he was a tiny bit out of tune, but was all soft and smiley...still happy with him then. (sorry, I really can't get over the finger pointing. Hmpfh.)

Rory-
Under pressure. You're not kidding. Rory has gone down for me, I do like his voice, but I still don't think he has the presence to fill an arena. He's doing a nice job of this. If Nathan goes (which he will, if ALW has a chance), he's my understudy. Judges lapping it up. Maybe he'll steal some Davidvotes with that performance, one can live in hope.

Ben-
Can he get any better, said Mel. I JUST DON'T GET IT. Aaah, a nice power ballad for Ben, how predictable. Im sorry, I just find him boring, and this is so clearly weighted in his favour it is really bugging me. I'm not sure I can keep watching as its winding me up. Amanda can barely hold back her emotion. The judges love it of course. He is so pipped to win now (or is it pimped?) it's ridiculous. Oh yes, of course from the VT we can all see he's a sweetheart Mel, unlike...erm...
Oh shut up Andrew.
So, I am annoyed. Really annoyed. Not because Nathan is my favourite, which he certainly wasn't to start with, but because of the blatant manipulation going on here. I hope he goes through, just to see the look on ALWs face. He couldn't make more of a fool of himself trying to humiliate Nathan than he did tonight, but I for one would love to see him try. In a way, I'd love Nathan to get the role then tell ALW to shove it where the sun dont shine.
Aw, Gary Barlow... this might cheer me up. Ouch, Ben is flat then.... Ah!!!! I've just realised who David reminds me of.....Cameron! Cameron!! Ferris Buellers best mate!!! (Showing my age.)
No wonder I can't take him seriously.
So who is in the sing off? (notnathannnotnathannotnathan)
Is it me or did Gary's face just scream "Shut up Amanda"?

Roger is in the bottom two....
Nathan or David... please David....
Oh thats it... Nathan is out. Silence from the crowd... He knows it too - we all know the sing off is meaningless, but Nathan, give it a vocal up yours.....

Dear God, they are singing love changes everything. I wonder what excuses ALW will give for getting rid of Nathan? Roger of course has the more classic voice, and this is right up his street not to mention more in his range. Nathan is making a good job of this, not that it matters. Great job by both in a pointless sing off.

Not easy????????????? My arse ALW. Just try and keep the smile off your face for a bit longer, show some grace at least.

Nathan goes.
So predictable. 

I think that's it for me. I have lost all respect for this show, and quite a lot for ALW.
Nighty night.

|

Saturday, 21 July 2012

Superstar - Live show # 6

Tamsin here, holding the fort while lovely Karina fends off the outlaws with a big stick.
 So are we ready for tonight? I wish I could muster up a bit more enthusiasm, I have to say - I love these shows whilst everyone else seems to hate them, but am really struggling with the nightly format.  I think the idea was to build the excitiment, to whip us into a musical theatre frenzy and create a buzz (if you'll pardon the gratuitous JCS reference).  Dare I say it, it is having the opposite affect on me, and far from sitting here with bated breath, I am feeling obligated to watch.  Kind like  swimming the channel, where you sort of wish you hadn't started, but to give up now would be a waste of previous effort? Not that I have, but you get the drift. This could be why K and I have been somewhat harsh in our reviewing of these no doubt lovely boys.  But there it is.  I blame ALW.  I shall no doubt blame him for a lot of things this evening.

I have been doing a catch up after missing last night in favour of two-for-one cocktails (Big mistake. Huge.) and it appears that someone at ITV has seen sense and realised that having the sing off at the start of the show is a bloody stupid idea...well, duh!!  Sadly its all been a bit of an unholy cock-up so far, but on the plus side, things can only improve......

So, eyes down for tonights soft-rock extravaganza.....who will stay? Double elimination apparently, so will there be a sing off? Two?? The Lord only knows, but I am going to put my money where my mouth is and predict exits from David and John.  I can but hope.

So tonight Amanda looks like a Bacofoil Wrap - shame, I quite often like her outfits...and she is still SHOUTING.
Dawn looks gorgeous tonight, ALW nervous....has he realised he many have eliminated Jesus before the live shows?  WHAAAT? OK ITV, so now we vote before hearing the performances?? Seriously? So the show is pointless then, no? 

Please don't let ITV do these shows again.... what a total ballsup. 

Pinball Wizard... plenty of rock face opportunities there, thanks boys....these group numbers sound great as long as you don't look at the TV and catch the somewhat dodgy facial expressions...

ALW pleads to the viewers to become casting directors by casting the RIGHT PERSON FOR JESUS, because if you just vote for your favourite, he warns sagely, you could RUIN THEIR CAREER. Ooo-er.  Surely if he'd done his flippin' job and only put people through to the finals who were actually right for the role he need not fret so?  But no, he eliminated competant, stage experienced proffessionals with the right voice and range in favour of wannabes to garner public sympathy and excite "the girls"....(this is not the X factor Mel).  Ye reap what ye sow, Lord.

OK - rant over....first up is John as musical theatre Bono.

Jon -
A solid performance, ALW begs him to channel Christ through the medium of U2, but gets no self-doubt, only Vegas-Jesus.  If you will put a lounge singer through...I don't hate on Johns voice as much as Karina, but Jesus he ain't. 

Jeff -
Ooh, this is a great rock number for his voice, and a wee bit of hair tossing from the boy there, with a screech worthy of The Temple....bravo.  This is good - I like!!  Hate the dancers though, particularly the one playing fake guitar.... The crowd LOVE IT.  So does Dawn, and Jeff looks proper chuffed. Bless him!  I love him!  Jase going all excitable...but is worried about his higher register. ALW impressed with his energy and his inner rock god.  Good stuff there then, the boy done good.

Roger-
Now, ALW thought he wasn't fit last night.  I beg to differ seeing his fetching jeans and waistcoat combo in the VT.  Our criteria must differ.  He's singing Feelin' Good - always a votegrabber of a song, they must be worried about him.  Understated so far, but he's about to let rip.... A new Dawn, a new day.... Will Ms French let this slide? I fear not....!  A great performance, and I think he's fab, but if he gets the part, they will have to lower the key surely? Is he not a baritone? Jesus is a high tenor role so he will wreck his voice if he's not careful.  Although I love his vocal, I still can't see my Jesus with a deep soulful tremor like Rogers.
(And no, She didn't let it slide....she interpreted it as a marriage proposal.)

Next up, Ben. I am going to stop typing and gravitate towards the TV in an effort to see what the judges see in him. I shall return.

My favourite bit of the VT? When he was filling his otherwise unblemished wall planner with big significant Superstar red X's clearly emphasising the building excitement as we head for the final. We get the message ITV.  Performance wise, I still don't get it.  I felt he was screechy, worryingly thin at the top, and bland to watch. Dawn thought he was brave on the high note front, JD loved it, here comes Mel, who clearly favours him. She's sickeningly biased. Ouch, 3 back to back quality performances, says ALW... he has clearly lost the Jon love then.  But no, I really cannot see what the judges see in Ben, he is totally unremarkable in my opinion, and not worth the extortionate Arena pricetag.

Rory-
Unexpectedly in the sing off yesterday....!  He's had an easy ride so far, so that must have been a shock for the poor lad.  Ooooh, Keane!!! I do love a bit of Keane, but Tom Chaplins voice takes some beating for me.  Not their best song this, but current it is.  And he's making a great job of this...gorgeous vocal to my ears. And he is very cute. Diddy Jesus. The verdicts... will Mel see him as her leading man as well even though she has already chosen Ben? She likes it, and switches allegiances. Floozy.  JD needs a slap, he's so bloody earnest.  ALW loves this boy.... oh back to Jason, they are really pushing Rory.  Make yer bloody minds up judges.

David-
Called "The Actor" last night, convince me Dave. I liked him in the auditions, but he's gone down each night for me. Ooh, angry Dave tonight.  He's been studying the lyrics.  He's practically in tears.....its really affecting his voice, and cringeworthy to watch.  The judges have their Baftas ready no doubt.
Amanda is fighting back the emotion. She's going for a Bafta too.
Oh God, if I have to listen to much more of Mel, I may throw up my dinner.
He's a phenomenal actor according to ALW.  Pur-lease. He needs no further encouragement.  If he can do that with pop, let him loose on MT and watch the judges collapse in racking sobs.  Jason especially, you just know he's got it in him. Me? I have been known to blub at a cynically manipulative advert for British meat involving an elderly couple still very much in love, and yet I am unmoved.  Strange.

Nathan-
My new favourite, a vocally safe pair of hands,  lets see what you can do.  OK I don't buy the new vulnerable Nathan, but he isn't actually supposed to BE Jesus, just act it. Sweet Child of Mine, definitely playing to his strengths there, an unbelievable vocal - I ADORE his voice, to the point that I can overlook the fact that I would dearly love to punch him.  This is vocally THE BEST OF THE NIGHT without a doubt.  It's rockingly STUNNING.   WOWWOWWOW. He may have won it with that!
If the judges really dont want him they will have to be very subtle here.
They may have used up all their adjectives too early on the others.....  I love Dawn, she makes sense.  JD loved it too - ooh, he wants him to talk.  Is this a good or bad thing?  He has a little speech that none of the others did, are theys trying to turn the votes around? OMG - No time for a comment from the Lord???????????????????? Amanda!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!! That is SHITE.  Ok, I'll go instead.  Nathan is without a doubt my fave Jesus.  That was the best version of that song I have ever heard.

So now we wait...can Amanda be one of the two eliminated tonight please?

Some of the interval acts I love (step forward Jake and Paloma), but wouldn't it have been great, given the content of the show, to have showcased some MT perfomances?  They are probably of the opinion that MT performers wouldn't attract the yoof voter and dilute the X Factor vibe they are clearly after, but its a missed opportunity in my view.

So... the sing off, a threeway? *ahem*

Awkward question time, "Who would you cast?" Amamda crassly asks the 3 judges who have no experience in this field, whilst the contestants stand in a desperate line before them on the stage....

Mel takes the bait and after an poorly acted internal battle, yells "Ben!" , whilst looking pointedly in ALWs direction.  Jase plants his arse firmly on the fence and says "All of them!"
"Understudies!" squeals Amanda in glee.  Yep, 6 of 'em, love.
Dawn, the only one to show any humility or decorum, acknowledges with humour that she has never cast a musical and does not intend to start now under pressure from an woman dressed as a Christmas dinner.  Respect.

So, onto the sing off...  Judging by the fact that Jon and Jeff are dressed in identical outfits, am guessing they are dressed to leave but we shall see.

OOH an MT number finally! Even if it is sung partly by Mary Magdalene in the show (good luck with that Rog...)

Oh god, far too high for Roger.  He's choked at the start.  Jon singing best so far. Aw love, Jeff, but MT not his bag. He would have made a gorgeous hairy Messiah, but I fear on this performance he's out.  Especially as he just forgot his line....oops.  Jon ain't no Jesus, but he was the most reliable there.

ALW saves Roger.  There we go then.  He's not right, but ALW needed to lose the inexperience at this stage - Jeff not ready, and Jon not right.  Handy opportunity then, that double elimination.
Aww, off you go boys, and frankly, I'm relieved to have a break myself and will emerge fresh as a daisy on Monday!!








Friday, 20 July 2012

Superstar - Live Show #5


Karina;

We have started this show with a frankly dire version of ‘Living on a Prayer’. Jeff wasn’t great, John wasn’t great, Roger wasn’t great…Nathan was good! Proper good. Apologies for this somewhat stilted account. I’m not at my own home, my PC/internet is playing up and my partner in crime isn’t around (I miss Tamsin!) but I will do my best to fly the flag for the fairies with this post even if it is a bit lonely here...

What, no exit at the beginning???? Where’s the Stairway to Heaven??? What’s going on??? Have I missed something?? Clearly I’m not going to be told. I thought the 'exit at the end' was a one off. Obviously not. Harrumph. I don't like being confused in this manner.

Jeff – Doing ‘Satisfaction’. That boy is a sexy little beast if you don’t mind me saying so. Even if saying it out loud makes me feel a bit dirty old woman like. And suddenly in this song he is back to being good again. His voice sounds strong, he moves well…Oh I do like him. Dawn didn’t rate his performance as much as I thought she would. Mel C was up to her usual chair dancing worst (guess it’s better than table dancing) so we’ll skip over her. ALW doesn’t think he’s fit, but the vocal was brilliant. Hmm. I still love him, Jeff that is. Though Nathan is coming up strong. And it suddenly occurred to me that Jeff looks a little like Charles Manson. But in a very handsome, blue eyed way. Will stop now before a spade will no longer suffice to dig me out of this hole...

David – I get that ‘Nothing Compares To You’ is supposed to show off his acting skills in terms of emotion but so far it’s not doing amazing things for his voice. He’s singing this a bit like an angry man. And I’m really not a fan of his perpetual smile/grimace. In terms of emoting I personally think he’s a bit pants. Please don’t shoot me. And I've just realised another reason I might not rate David as much; I can see him in the lead of 'Ghost', a musical I really didn't care for. Ouch. Jase 'can’t fault the performance'  but he can SEE when David is acting.  I agree. ALW is feeling the David love tonight. I’m so rubbish as a critic. I seem to not like anyone the others like.

Rory – ‘Superstar Scouser’ according to Amanda F**kw*t Holden. She should know that people from the Wirral hate being called Scousers. ‘Fix You’.  He’s very pretty and he’s got a good voice, but I personally don’t think it is an Arena voice and I can’t see Arena charisma projected through Rory. Bet you anything that  the judges disagree with everything I’ve just said. Oh! ALW thinks of him interpreting The Last Supper, so he’s still holding a torch for Rory but the others were critical of his lack of depth…get them!

Nathan -  ‘Ain’t No Sunshine’. This boy has bucketfuls of stage presence and oodles of charisma. And a brilliant voice. Oh dear. Sorry Jeff, but Nathan has just pipped you to the post as my Jesus! Who knew this would happen!! My only criticism is he runs the risk of relying too much on shoutiness. Jason says it was outstanding, Dawn thinks he’s a force of nature but implies he’s a bit egotistical. ALW – another bad, bad joke. But he thinks he has the potential to be a superstar. Ooh err missus. I think he is fab. Fab, fab, fab! But he isn't, and never will be, Drew Sarich. Just saying.

Ben – ‘Fast Car’. Great song. Sung like a true pop singer (NOT ROCK). And a slightly whiney one at that. I don’t like that kind of gulpy, ‘reaching for notes’ type of singing. Frankly this song does not showcase his voice at all. Weak performance. And over-emoting as well. Tsk tsk. The audience goes mad, and the judges think he’s a great story teller. Maybe I should start critiquing steam engines or combine harvesters rather than Musical Theatre, as I am clearly, obviously, utter smelly pants at this malarkey. ALW reckons he ‘acts but also reveals himself’ and that this is rare. I didn’t see that at all. 
I give up.

Niall – can he bounce back from last night? His sister and mum seem lovely. His lower register isn’t great in this song…It’s that song by The Calling’…is it called ‘Wherever You Will Go’? I think this is one of his better performances but he continues to be one of the weaker contestants for me. Sorry Niall. Because he seems a lovely, sweet boy. Mel C didn’t like it. Jase doesn’t see consistency.  ALW gave really constructive feedback. Respect! I think Dawn is here just to make them laugh.

John - Even before I hear him tonight I’m just going to say No. And I've only now realised his name is spelt ‘Jon’. Ooops. ‘Feel’. And there goes the vibralto. I’ll give him this much, this is one of his better performances (I’m not proud) but he is SO not my Jesus and his higher register sucks and his days must be numbered on the show…OK. He’s a lovely guy, say the judges. I get it. Yet lovely doesn't mean JCS -class. But ooh, there where criticisms…

Roger – is being a bit Tom Jones in shiny white trousers. Singing’Rolling in the Deep’ and going a bit flat in places. I think he made a bit of a dogs dinner of that. Mel C, that was NOT pitch perfect!! Jase dared to be critical. Dawn says he can act. ‘Evidence in his favour to play this part’. Crikey. Really? ALW noticed he was out of puff. So he’s not fit either! Treadmill. Or maybe he’d like Zumba more.

I realise I sound like a bitter old hag. I think it's because I'm on a diet, and ideally I would be watching this with a toasted cheese sandwich and a pint of cider, followed by a Double Decker choccie bar. My nerves are not what they should be. Apologies if any offence has been caused in this post, but you just don't get in my way when I'm hungry, or dare sing badly in talent shows (even if I'm the only one who hears duff notes). There. Rant over.

An interlude with Scissor Sisters  and the gorgeous Jake and a very skinny Ana Matronix…

So the votes have been counted!!!!! Who will stay and who might go,,,?

Roger – safe
Jon (note the spelling!) – safe (Bloody Norah!)
Nathan – safe (too right he is!)
Jeff – safe (woohoo!)
Ben – safe
Rory – might be going…
David – safe
Niall – in the sing off.

I reckon Niall will be waving goodbye tonight. He’s reached the end of the road.  Niall is singing through his teeth again. Rory looks petrified. Niall knows he’s going. You can tell – he looks a bit defeated. FFS I’m going to cry again!!!!! And it’s bloody Niall’s fault because he looks crest fallen (or it's my lack of proper, nourishing junk food).

So what does the good lord say? Rory is safe, Niall is very probably going to get roles in the West End and would make a great Marius  (I'm sure I said that somewhere...) and possibly a fab Raoul. All is not lost, lovely boy from the Emerald Isles, just because you weren't Jesus doesn't mean you can't be magnificent elsewhere so mop up those tears!! Now. it's an order. Really.

Good night, folks. I’m off before I cry anymore. No more wobbly chin, Niall, I have to somehow explain my soggy eyes to Mr 'I don't like JCS. I'm off to watch Southpark'. Now there's a cultured man for you. Not.

P.S it's the following morning. The internet is working (yay!) but the' in-law's' are arriving, and as they are of the Vera Lynn generation, I doubt there will be Superstar on TV tonight or tomorrow night (sniff). So I will leave the updates to my learned, lovely, musically much more adept than me Tamsin, and hopefully join you again soon. Sunday at the latest (though I hear there is no show on the Sunday? At least I can catch up with iplayer then).

Buh-bye for now and please wish me luck with 'mother-in-law'. Seriously. I need it.

Wednesday, 18 July 2012

Superstar - Live Show #4

Karina:
I just sent Tamsin a text message which said 'Yawn. Here we go again...'. Not because I'm bored with this process - I'm not - but because possibly I'd have preferred it if it had been spaced out a bit, you know, a show a week. Instead of getting to know the tunesome lads, we seem to be having a whistlestop tour where we just about get to know their names and looks but other than that not a lot. Little soundbites. Do you remember 'Any Dream Will Do' when we all got to know Lewis's nana? Lee's love of onions? There's less of a chance to find out the little quirks that frequently make shows like this so much fun. Forgive me if it sounds as if I have Jesus fatigue as I haven't. Maybe I just need a good nights' sleep! Whinge over. My Bah Humbugging stops here (She says. Old habits are, however, hard to break).

So will my predictions from yesterday come true or am I just a crap predictor? We'll soon find out I guess.

I predicted John and Tim.

Blimey. We're 3 minutes in and we have already had sycophantic laughter aplenty. ALW - Gawd bless yer, but you're not funny. Unintentionally maybe, but not in THAT way.

'Rule the World'. Less vibrato John. It's not good! Nathan however looks great in a ponytail. When his hair is down he sometimes reminds me of 'Animal' from The Muppet Show. Albeit in a good way. And a very blonde Norse God kind of way.

The results!!!!!
Ben - safe.
Roger - safe.
David - bottom two.
John - safe (bloody hell...)
Rory - safe.
Niall - safe.
Jeff - safe. (I'd stop watching if he wasn't)
Nathan - safe.
Tim - bottom two.

So I'm half a crap predictor then. Can't have everything I suppose.

Blimey - not sure I can choose between these two. Tim hasn't the classic look but he potentially has the voice. David could be Jesusy at a push but I'm not convinced he has the charisma or the voice to fill an arena. So I guess we let The Lord decide.

As Beatles songs go I like this one. Does David overact a little...? Tim seems a bit overwhelmed. Might not bode well. I think David might be winning this one so far. Vocally even, which I never thought I'd say. I feel a bit sad again now. At least they aren't expected to do a Gethsemane solo when they exit...
Ha! What a twist, Lord! Guaranteed to bring out nervous, rubbish  performances from both, probably. How unfair!!!!!

Niall - Apparently he's going to 'Rock Out' for us tonight - sans 'rock face', I can but hope. They are choosing all my fave songs in this show!! 'One'. Not exactly out and out rock, is it though. And he must be careful as he could easily sound a little whiney. For me he's not 'rock'. It's like he pretends he is, whereas really he's a bit Rodgers and Hammerstein. Or Stock , Aitken and Waterman. Jase is being honest. He does take himself seriously though. Niall doesn't look a happy chappie. Aw. He's got dimples!

Rory - Is it just me or is there a not very subtle subliminal message to get Rory in? In the same way ALW clearly doesn't want Nathan to win? Trying to sound like Sting whilst singing 'Roxanne' may not be the wisest move. Then I could just be a jaded, crusty, finickety cow. Moo. Maybe he just sounds like Sting. Engaging performance though. Even with the cheesy dancers. Bring back Pans People. Mel C - I think I might have to stop saying anything about her. His voice has gone down well with the judges. So maybe I need my ears syringed.

David - Crazy name, crazy guy (sorry, private joke. Have known a few David's but I've said enough already). He looks and sounds a bit like boyband member 15 years on. Like a stand in member of Take That....he's OK but I'm not getting the right vibes. I still maintain; lovely boy, probably a good MT performer but never in a trillion years is he JC.  That last comment might yet come to bite me on the bum. Ooooh don't you dare cry, don't you dare...Auntie Karina blubs at the drop of a hat at the moment...I think the judges have made up their minds whom they'd like to save...and so much for a nervous performance. That was rather good in a kind of way.

Ben - Starting off sounding nasal which is never a very good thing in my books. He's likable. He holds a tune well. He isn't, however, exceptional. And in a process like this, I expect them to find someone who is the 'whole package'. I promised myself I'd never use that phrase. That was a good performance. And yes he IS a pop singer Dawn, thank you! Ooh, has ALW swapped allegiance...?

John - What is he wearing??? So it's not a fashion show. I get it. Grumble grumble. Do you think people keep voting for  him to stay in because they don't properly know or understand the requirements of JCS?  See, this guy is just not a Rock singer. His falsetto is awful and thin and he has that tremulous vibralto which does my head in. I know they all adore him but send him home so we can get on with the show. Are all the judges under contract to be nice at all cost? They all give 'a bit of advice' but no one says 'Naaah. not for this show'.

Nathan - Another song I adore. I think he's doing this rather well. There's softness and vulnerability whilst emoting appropriately...Oooh boy is doing good! He could be Jesus after that! Wahey! About time! Dawn loved it, Jase loved it, Mel loved it (but she can shut up now) and ALW said it was 'wonderful working with him'...seems like even the good Lord has finally seen that Nathan is really very good. Excellent! Suddenly I'm rather pleased again!

Roger - He will always be a soul man for me. Even when he sings 'Here I go again'. Is he trying a bit too hard...? I don't think rocking out is his strongest point. And it feels false and 'put on'.  However, the judges (and audience) seem to see/think otherwise and my opinion means NOTHING. Clearly. On to the adverts.

Tim - How does a bloody Spice Girl get to play Mary Magdalene anyway??? Oooh Tim, don't you dare destroy my favourite song which only the divine Steve Tyler can sing...Dream on (excuse the pun). The performance isn't great. Or it would be better, maybe, if I didn't look at him. Isn't that an awful thing to say? That last scream - I know it was supposed to be the scream that would secure him his place in the contest but it sounded a little unsupported. I think it's still open. Either one could still leave the contest.

Jeff - Never thought I'd say this but now he has to beat Nathan with this performance. Lets see. 'Kiss From a Rose'. I. Love. This. Song. He sounds slightly pitchy in the soft, high bits...and the powerful bits are better but IMHO this is not his best performance. But he is very, very, very, very pretty. I could sit him down at a table and sit across from him and just stare at him. All day long. Though I'm sure he would think I was a bit strange. So ALW do you like Jeff or not? Yes, he does. I don't think he'll be leaving tomorrow.

Another break. I'm quite proud of myself. I haven't mentioned that infuriating Holden woman once! I must be getting better,

Come on ALW, who's going?

Tim. Aw. He reminds me of Simon Shorten and although he wasn't my Jesus I liked him and would want him as a friend. I'm all upset now!

In the sing off tomorrow? John the cabaret man and Niall. Even though, as I am Crappy Crapperton the Crappy Predictor it could be anyone.

Oops! Have to go!

I might have problems writing over the next few days, as I'm of ooop north to spend time with the 'in-laws' and my guess is I won't be able to watch the show live but on iplayer at a later date. But I will do my best...Not that the world is a better place for my musings. Probably a worse one. But eh.


Tamsin my lovely, over to you!!!

Tamsin, representing the South Coast Jury:

Night 3...or is it 4? Am losing count.
So, 2 ordinary Joes in the sing off. Who will go? My money is on David, he just looks like more of a geography teacher than a superstar to me. Tim is more quirky.
Bit of a cop out from ALW...what will this do to the timings of the show one wonders.
A fine and jolly shirt ALW is sporting, and I do like Amandas dress, although she is still annoying.

The long and winding road....all a bit pointless if ALW has gone all coy and won't make a decision.

OK after a lengthy phone call to my mother, I will attempt to catch up....

Rory - good vocal, a strong performance.

Niall - like him but he looks like a beaten man, and clearly the judges don`t rate him.

David - I just don't get the love, and the fact that he reminds me of Jamie Oliver doesn't help.
(Forgive me if I forget anyone...)

Ben - get up off the chair, and leave the divine Maroon 5 alone. Not for me sorry.

Nathan- love love loved it. Girlie bun aside, Nathan has perfected the I'm vulnerable and humble routine, and gave a show stealing performance. I always thought he was good, but he was great tonight.... a turning point I think. Love how all the judges are taking the credit after their "chats" with him, instead of acknowledging that this is the first time he was given scope to show what he can do with an emotional song.

Roger - I hate this song so much I can't judge sorry. Sorry Rog. Cuppa tea time.

Ohhh, I forgot Jon - cheesy, shiny, orange Jon. Your classic Messiah (with veneers). He's just too TOWIE looking, although thank God he has a stylist for the show after the shocking get up he was sporting on the VT. He is just NOT JESUS. NOT NOT NOT. ALW...listen up please.
I will just pause to say how thoroughly irritating I am finding Mel and her intensity, chair dancing, wide eyed stare and general being. Aaaah, that's better.

Tim - What is that girl doing to his trousers????????????? The crowd are going nuts, but I just dont find that a nice sound AT ALL. It was powerful, determined, but properly SCREEEEEECHY. It made me develop a brand new wrinkle.

Jeff - Kiss from a Rose, tricky song. Oooh a few duff notes there but I think he pulled it back... OK Jase it wasn't perfect but I'd like to see you bloody try it. And he still looks pretty and very Jesusesque. He'd look great opposite Tim Minchin, just saying.

So.... decision time, and I hate to say it but (shhh...) I don't really care who goes...

Ah. Tim. Time to say farewell, but if its any consolation, David isn't Jesus either. There I said it.

Performance of the night for me was Nathan by a clear mile.
Bottom 2..... Niall and John.

Tuesday, 17 July 2012

Superstar - Live Show #3

Karina:


Waiting here with baited breath... ish. I'm glad we didn't head out to Wembley today, despite the fact the sun has been out all day, as watching in the comfort of my own home has much more appeal. Wearing pyjamas, hair poking any which way and without a scrap of make up on at least I won't frighten the general public and make small children cry. Btw  I LOVE the idea that Tamsin suggested of Nathan being Judas - he is like a blonde, Viking version of Mischa Mang  (look him up on Google/Youtube and you'll see what I mean), only Mischa doesn't have the same attitude problem that seems to follow the young Nathan. 
Despite my general laziness and grumblings I do love a bit of MT on telly and am quite enjoying this process...
...But on with tonight's show, having just bawled my eyes out over a gardening surprise Alan Titchmarsh sprung on an absolutely lovely couple. Time to mop up by tears...when have I ever cried over Alan Titchmarsh (rhetorical question, no need to answer...)?

As always, we start proceedings with Amanda 'Barbie Doll' Holden. I will not go on about how irritating she is because it has already been well documented.

Oh! We're on!! So who is safe and who's next to go...?

I thought Mel C's arm was in a sling! Odd frock...Jase looks like he's been up all night...

A bit of Sgt Pepper first. Aw bless them with their choreography!! Niall would make a good Marius I think, watching this. Jeff did his bit well...Dirk a bit weak (Yikes! Might not bode well...)..

'The lines are now closed, the votes have been counted...'

Tim - in the bottom two!! Didn't see that coming!!
Ben is safe (hmmm)
David is safe (I'm on the fence about him...)
Jeff - remains in the competition (My pretty!)
John - safe again (nice guy, good voice, wrong role...)
Roger - safe (as above)
Nathan - safe (good use of hair straighteners)
Rory is safe (Wirral breaths a sigh of relief)

Leaving Niall and Dirk...

Must be Dirk.
There.I knew it!!!
Niall is safe.
I think Dirk will go...ALW  seems fond of Tim and I don't think he'll want him to go...

Another odd song choice...I'm not sure it suits either of them but Dirk is making a bit of a dogs dinner of it, whereas Tim, though not perfect, is at least mostly in key and making it more believable.

Tim is saved. Right choice I think ...and Dirk will get MT roles if he wants them - he's a good looking lad with a lovely voice, even if he wasn't JCS. And very humble. Man, what's wrong with me, I'm in tears again...bloody Alan Titchmarsh for setting me off...so on with the solo performances.
ALW is looking for charisma. Voices are all well and good, but if your eye isn't drawn to the leading man on stage, you ain't got it. So that's what I'll be looking out this evening...

Roger - 'More than words'. I'm going to be a wreck after this show as I LOVE this song!!!! Only this was a bit bland. Beautifully sung but just...dunno. Judges loving it though. It was a lovely performance. For me it wasn't Jesus charisma however. And now I know why love this song...it reminds me of a particular night out...oh the memories (sung with alternative lyrics...)

Nathan - He's a bit all or nothing, isn't he. Runs the risk of being a bit shouty if he isn't careful. I've always gone on the 'singing loud doesn't mean singing well' principle and he seems to be doing the loud bit with very little softness...hmm. Yet I still like him and think he will stay in the contest for a while. I really hope so. I'm warming to him. There's something very young behind the hairiness. I think ALW is spot on with his comments about bot yet showing that gentleness and despair. Nathan looks gutted...hang in there Nathan!! I reckon he could yet prove to be JC (unless Jeff gets there first). Charismatic? Yes.

Rory - Ok. He sounds alright...but I think he sounds more 'pop' in this than 'rock'. He is growing on me a little though. His little baldy shaved head is reminiscent of Drew Sarich (I shall stop right there!! See - I stopped!) but I don't see this as his best performance. It would appear Jason agrees with me! And ALW!! Woohoo! Charisma to be arresting on the O2 stage? Jury is out.

John - Once again I have to agree with Tasmin - he is like an overgrown Lewis from 'Any Dream Will Do'!!! Bloody hell, it sounds like he's trying to channel Neil Diamond and not in a good way!!! That vibrato is a bit much...oooh yikes. This is sooo not good...not at all. Has John shown a weak spot...? Not my charismatic JC. Dawn heard something I didn't. Mel C never says anything negative. ALW is so right again!! Who knew him and I would think as one about the emotion?? But what about anyone commenting on the vibrato..? Anyone...? No...? OK...moving on...

David - Not liking this choreography. Once I got it into my head that he'd be brilliant in Avenue Q I seem unable to imagine him in anything else. There's just not enough shade and light in his acting and emoting and I reckon he'd be great in anything but JCS. Maybe I'm a crap judge because I seem to have heard and seen a very different performance. 'Arenability' is needed, says ALW. Couldn't agree more.

Ben - 'Everybody hurts'. Hmmm. Strangely enough I like his performance more than I like his voice, as long as he doesn't go too OTT. Ah. There it was. OTT. OK, he may stay in for a few episodes yet. The audience seem to have loved that. Sorry to go off the subject, but I'm getting quite annoyed with Mel C's' intensity' as it feels very fake...Oh! Judges not as abundant in their praise as I expected them to be...I can't see him being commanding on a huge stage though. His personality isn't 'big' enough for me. Man I'm a bloody fusspot...

Tim - He's got very blue eyes!! Mel C doing her moody bopping along...aargh!! She does my head in!! Not sure I like Tim singing 'Muse'. As a big Muse fan I don't see how anyone can do those notes other than Matthew Bellamy (and Drew Sarich would nail it. Just saying.).  I think he was given a song which didn't really suit him. My opinion of him stays the same. Lovely guy but not my JCS.

Jeff - Bless him!! A bit of Nickleback and he hasn't resorted to artificial gravellyness or growling which is good. Rather predictably I'm liking this quite a bit. Great outfit. I do love a waistcoat over a t-shirt...just saying. I think boy did good. And I think he was proper grrrrr. And he IS charismatic because you just find yourself staring at him. I do anyway. But stop winking at the camera.

Niall - a favourite of 'Heat' magazine, dontcha know! 'Human Sunshine'? I suppose he is very smiley. Dirty bloody Diana??? Oh well. he is mumbling his words in my opinion. And there seems to be some unnecessary jaw thrusting happening as well. Not a good song for the boy. But I think he'll stay in as he seems much loved. That vocal wasn't rock solid. He has charisma but not as my JCS. He is a poppet. Niall, that is.

My general gripe this evening is, if you hadn't already guessed, Mel C and her inanities (see how I didn't mention the Amanda woman?). Mustn't let it get to me. So we're at the end of the show. My predicition for the sing off tomorrow?
Hmmmm. John. Tim. I could be wrong. My faves? Jeff again. And Nathan occasionally, but mostly Jeff. So it's good night from me and over to Tasmin's learned opinion regarding tonight's proceedings!!

OK, a bit late, but am here! Hey Karina!!

So, Dirks gone, right decision - sweet boy but definitely not up to the job IMO.

Roger - better than last night, but I really can't listen to this song without thinking "Northern birds..." followed by some questionable and certainly misogynistic lyrics, but bloody funny. Youtube it.
I digress....a good performance I thought, but still hasn't made me go all Dawn French.

Nathan - I thought it was OK, but ALW really not buying into him. Just give him the right bloody songs then, Lord. God the audience are annoying. Right decision K, I have my tea, a Twirl (shh) and my fluffy slippers and am happy as a pig in the proverbial.

Rory - Dakota, Oooh, love this song. Noone can sing it like Kelly Jones, but he's not doing badly. Just needs a few 100 B & H and he'd be set. But three rock sings in 3 nights, methinks Rory needs a ballad. Of course he's consistant Dawn, he hasn't been tested. But I do like him. And so does ALW, the chosen one, I'll say it again. They are playing to his strengths every night.

Jon - you know, he's growing on me when I don't watch him, but then I look up. Oh, he spoilt it with that hideous attempt at falsetto... sorry Jon. Stairway for you please.

David - Boring. Mel, what were you watching???? Am I going mad? Mels speechless, JD was inspired...ALW? Hosanna moment? Oh he's pleased with himself for inventing a new word. Bless. But David...meh. I do like Dawns hair.

Ben - Sunderlands Billy Elliot according to the moronic Amanda. What the...? Oh sorry Ben but standing with the light shining through your ears is not good, and I adore REM so not very in love with it being oversung. The audience will go nuts. Yep, there we go.... so predictable. Am I in a bad mood? He's not my choice, but could I see him as Jesus? Possibly....

Nice Guy Tim - am waiting to see what the others see. Muse, interesting. Lots of my fave songs tonight, its like a drunken night at home with the Ipod and a bottle of vodka. He's made a good job of the vocal, but I cannot get over his look - I know I'm shallow.

Jeff - I really want him to blow them away, because I think he can. Oh I love the tone of his voice, angry Jesus, I can see it!! Go Jeff!! Am sure the judges will agree...... well, nearly.

Niall - Oh this isnt going well, did he forget the words? Not awful but far from convincing for me, but yes Dawn, better than last night. Thankfully.... Dawn sounded desperate though, she thinks he's out. They all sound like they are trying to convince him, and much as I like him, I really don't think he's up to an arena.....

So..... bottom two, I'm going for...erm...Jon and Niall. Or Roger. Or David... on second hearing it was dire in my opinion. Hedging my bets.
Performance of the night - Jeff.

Oh ALW really doesnt want Nathan... light and shade, light and shade, blah blah blah - quite happy for Rory to show the same skill every bloody night though. I like Rory, but I like fair play. I'm British.

Right, time to put the bins out....