Karina:
Waiting here with baited breath... ish. I'm glad we didn't head out to Wembley today, despite the fact the sun has been out all day, as watching in the comfort of my own home has much more appeal. Wearing pyjamas, hair poking any which way and without a scrap of make up on at least I won't frighten the general public and make small children cry. Btw I LOVE the idea that Tamsin suggested of Nathan being Judas - he is like a blonde, Viking version of Mischa Mang (look him up on Google/Youtube and you'll see what I mean), only Mischa doesn't have the same attitude problem that seems to follow the young Nathan.
Despite my general laziness and grumblings I do love a bit of MT on telly and am quite enjoying this process...
...But on with tonight's show, having just bawled my eyes out over a gardening surprise Alan Titchmarsh sprung on an absolutely lovely couple. Time to mop up by tears...when have I ever cried over Alan Titchmarsh (rhetorical question, no need to answer...)?
As always, we start proceedings with Amanda 'Barbie Doll' Holden. I will not go on about how irritating she is because it has already been well documented.
Oh! We're on!! So who is safe and who's next to go...?
I thought Mel C's arm was in a sling! Odd frock...Jase looks like he's been up all night...
A bit of Sgt Pepper first. Aw bless them with their choreography!! Niall would make a good Marius I think, watching this. Jeff did his bit well...Dirk a bit weak (Yikes! Might not bode well...)..
'The lines are now closed, the votes have been counted...'
Tim - in the bottom two!! Didn't see that coming!!
Ben is safe (hmmm)
David is safe (I'm on the fence about him...)
Jeff - remains in the competition (My pretty!)
John - safe again (nice guy, good voice, wrong role...)
Roger - safe (as above)
Nathan - safe (good use of hair straighteners)
Rory is safe (Wirral breaths a sigh of relief)
Leaving Niall and Dirk...
Must be Dirk.
There.I knew it!!!
Niall is safe.
I think Dirk will go...ALW seems fond of Tim and I don't think he'll want him to go...
Another odd song choice...I'm not sure it suits either of them but Dirk is making a bit of a dogs dinner of it, whereas Tim, though not perfect, is at least mostly in key and making it more believable.
Tim is saved. Right choice I think ...and Dirk will get MT roles if he wants them - he's a good looking lad with a lovely voice, even if he wasn't JCS. And very humble. Man, what's wrong with me, I'm in tears again...bloody Alan Titchmarsh for setting me off...so on with the solo performances.
ALW is looking for charisma. Voices are all well and good, but if your eye isn't drawn to the leading man on stage, you ain't got it. So that's what I'll be looking out this evening...
Roger - 'More than words'. I'm going to be a wreck after this show as I LOVE this song!!!! Only this was a bit bland. Beautifully sung but just...dunno. Judges loving it though. It was a lovely performance. For me it wasn't Jesus charisma however. And now I know why love this song...it reminds me of a particular night out...oh the memories (sung with alternative lyrics...)
Nathan - He's a bit all or nothing, isn't he. Runs the risk of being a bit shouty if he isn't careful. I've always gone on the 'singing loud doesn't mean singing well' principle and he seems to be doing the loud bit with very little softness...hmm. Yet I still like him and think he will stay in the contest for a while. I really hope so. I'm warming to him. There's something very young behind the hairiness. I think ALW is spot on with his comments about bot yet showing that gentleness and despair. Nathan looks gutted...hang in there Nathan!! I reckon he could yet prove to be JC (unless Jeff gets there first). Charismatic? Yes.
Rory - Ok. He sounds alright...but I think he sounds more 'pop' in this than 'rock'. He is growing on me a little though. His little baldy shaved head is reminiscent of Drew Sarich (I shall stop right there!! See - I stopped!) but I don't see this as his best performance. It would appear Jason agrees with me! And ALW!! Woohoo! Charisma to be arresting on the O2 stage? Jury is out.
John - Once again I have to agree with Tasmin - he is like an overgrown Lewis from 'Any Dream Will Do'!!! Bloody hell, it sounds like he's trying to channel Neil Diamond and not in a good way!!! That vibrato is a bit much...oooh yikes. This is sooo not good...not at all. Has John shown a weak spot...? Not my charismatic JC. Dawn heard something I didn't. Mel C never says anything negative. ALW is so right again!! Who knew him and I would think as one about the emotion?? But what about anyone commenting on the vibrato..? Anyone...? No...? OK...moving on...
David - Not liking this choreography. Once I got it into my head that he'd be brilliant in Avenue Q I seem unable to imagine him in anything else. There's just not enough shade and light in his acting and emoting and I reckon he'd be great in anything but JCS. Maybe I'm a crap judge because I seem to have heard and seen a very different performance. 'Arenability' is needed, says ALW. Couldn't agree more.
Ben - 'Everybody hurts'. Hmmm. Strangely enough I like his performance more than I like his voice, as long as he doesn't go too OTT. Ah. There it was. OTT. OK, he may stay in for a few episodes yet. The audience seem to have loved that. Sorry to go off the subject, but I'm getting quite annoyed with Mel C's' intensity' as it feels very fake...Oh! Judges not as abundant in their praise as I expected them to be...I can't see him being commanding on a huge stage though. His personality isn't 'big' enough for me. Man I'm a bloody fusspot...
Tim - He's got very blue eyes!! Mel C doing her moody bopping along...aargh!! She does my head in!! Not sure I like Tim singing 'Muse'. As a big Muse fan I don't see how anyone can do those notes other than Matthew Bellamy (and Drew Sarich would nail it. Just saying.). I think he was given a song which didn't really suit him. My opinion of him stays the same. Lovely guy but not my JCS.
Jeff - Bless him!! A bit of Nickleback and he hasn't resorted to artificial gravellyness or growling which is good. Rather predictably I'm liking this quite a bit. Great outfit. I do love a waistcoat over a t-shirt...just saying. I think boy did good. And I think he was proper grrrrr. And he IS charismatic because you just find yourself staring at him. I do anyway. But stop winking at the camera.
Niall - a favourite of 'Heat' magazine, dontcha know! 'Human Sunshine'? I suppose he is very smiley. Dirty bloody Diana??? Oh well. he is mumbling his words in my opinion. And there seems to be some unnecessary jaw thrusting happening as well. Not a good song for the boy. But I think he'll stay in as he seems much loved. That vocal wasn't rock solid. He has charisma but not as my JCS. He is a poppet. Niall, that is.
My general gripe this evening is, if you hadn't already guessed, Mel C and her inanities (see how I didn't mention the Amanda woman?). Mustn't let it get to me. So we're at the end of the show. My predicition for the sing off tomorrow?
Hmmmm. John. Tim. I could be wrong. My faves? Jeff again. And Nathan occasionally, but mostly Jeff. So it's good night from me and over to Tasmin's learned opinion regarding tonight's proceedings!!
OK, a bit late, but am here! Hey Karina!!
So, Dirks gone, right decision - sweet boy but definitely not up to the job IMO.
Roger - better than last night, but I really can't listen to this song without thinking "Northern birds..." followed by some questionable and certainly misogynistic lyrics, but bloody funny. Youtube it.
I digress....a good performance I thought, but still hasn't made me go all Dawn French.
Nathan - I thought it was OK, but ALW really not buying into him. Just give him the right bloody songs then, Lord. God the audience are annoying. Right decision K, I have my tea, a Twirl (shh) and my fluffy slippers and am happy as a pig in the proverbial.
Rory - Dakota, Oooh, love this song. Noone can sing it like Kelly Jones, but he's not doing badly. Just needs a few 100 B & H and he'd be set. But three rock sings in 3 nights, methinks Rory needs a ballad. Of course he's consistant Dawn, he hasn't been tested. But I do like him. And so does ALW, the chosen one, I'll say it again. They are playing to his strengths every night.
Jon - you know, he's growing on me when I don't watch him, but then I look up. Oh, he spoilt it with that hideous attempt at falsetto... sorry Jon. Stairway for you please.
David - Boring. Mel, what were you watching???? Am I going mad? Mels speechless, JD was inspired...ALW? Hosanna moment? Oh he's pleased with himself for inventing a new word. Bless. But David...meh. I do like Dawns hair.
Ben - Sunderlands Billy Elliot according to the moronic Amanda. What the...? Oh sorry Ben but standing with the light shining through your ears is not good, and I adore REM so not very in love with it being oversung. The audience will go nuts. Yep, there we go.... so predictable. Am I in a bad mood? He's not my choice, but could I see him as Jesus? Possibly....
Nice Guy Tim - am waiting to see what the others see. Muse, interesting. Lots of my fave songs tonight, its like a drunken night at home with the Ipod and a bottle of vodka. He's made a good job of the vocal, but I cannot get over his look - I know I'm shallow.
Jeff - I really want him to blow them away, because I think he can. Oh I love the tone of his voice, angry Jesus, I can see it!! Go Jeff!! Am sure the judges will agree...... well, nearly.
Niall - Oh this isnt going well, did he forget the words? Not awful but far from convincing for me, but yes Dawn, better than last night. Thankfully.... Dawn sounded desperate though, she thinks he's out. They all sound like they are trying to convince him, and much as I like him, I really don't think he's up to an arena.....
So..... bottom two, I'm going for...erm...Jon and Niall. Or Roger. Or David... on second hearing it was dire in my opinion. Hedging my bets.
Performance of the night - Jeff.
Oh ALW really doesnt want Nathan... light and shade, light and shade, blah blah blah - quite happy for Rory to show the same skill every bloody night though. I like Rory, but I like fair play. I'm British.
Right, time to put the bins out....
No comments:
Post a Comment